van Dokkum discovers "fluffiest galaxies"

Fri, 05/15/2015
Pieter van Dokkum has discovered the most diffuse class of galaxies known in the universe, along with his team of international researchers.  These “fluffiest galaxies” are...
HST image

Oesch breaks galaxy distance record with discovery

Wed, 05/06/2015
Yale Postdoc Pascal Oesch led an international team of astronomers in discovering the most distant galaxy currently measured.  The discovery has pushed back the cosmic...
Artist's conception of Kepler-186f, the first validated Earth-size planet to orbit a distant star in the habitable zone.

Yale joins new NASA team searching for life outside the solar system

Thu, 04/23/2015
NASA has enlisted Professor Debra Fischer and her research group for the Nexus for Exoplanet System Science (NExSS), a national collaboration of scientists that seeks a new...
Geha headshot

Professor Marla Geha named 2015 Guggenheim Fellow

Tue, 04/21/2015
Professor Marla Geha has been selected for a 2015 Fellowship by the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. She was one of 175 Fellows selected from more than 3100 applicants.  ...

Cluster Filled with Dark Matter May House 'Failed Galaxies'

Tue, 02/24/2015
To study them, Pieter van Dokkum of Yale University and his colleagues used the Dragonfly Telephoto Array in New Mexico… Excerpt from Space; To read entire article...

Astronomers discover a replica solar system

Tue, 01/27/2015
Scientists have located an ancient solar system, dating back to the dawn of the galaxy, which appears to be a miniature version of the inner planets in our own solar system....

Black hole on a diet creates a 'changing look' quasar

Thu, 01/22/2015
Yale University astronomers have identified the first “changing look” quasar, a gleaming object in deep space that appears to have its own dimmer switch…