Astronomical Society of the Pacific honors Pieter van Dokkum

Tue, 08/14/2018
The Astronomical Society of the Pacific has honored Yale’s Pieter van Dokkum with the 2018 Maria and Eric Muhlmann Award, which honors important research results based upon...

A New Frontier for Exoplanet Hunting

Wed, 07/18/2018
The first exoplanets were all found using the radial velocity method of measuring the “wobble” of a star — movement caused by the gravitational pull of an orbiting planet....

Greg Laughlin Named Kavli Lecturer for January 2019 Meeting

Mon, 06/25/2018
With support from the Kavli Foundation, the Vice-Presidents of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) name a special invited lecturer to kick off each semiannual AAS meeting...

2018 Winners of Prestigious Hoffleit Research Fellowship Announced

Tue, 05/29/2018
After a rigorous application process, the Yale Department of Astronomy is pleased to announce that the Dorrit Hoffleit Undergraduate Research Scholarship has been awarded to...
CARMA-NRO Orion Survey

A new map for a birthplace of stars

Wed, 05/16/2018
A Yale-led research group has created the most detailed maps yet of a vast seedbed of stars similar to Earth’s Sun. The maps provide unprecedented detail of the structure of...

Priyamvada Natarajan receives the Gustav Ranis International Book Prize

Tue, 05/15/2018
Priyamvada Natarajan, professor of astronomy and physics, received the Gustav Ranis International Book Prize for best book for “Mapping the Heavens: The Radical Scientific...
Left to right: AYA Board of Governors Chair Rahul Prasad ’84 M.S., ’87 Ph.D.; honoree Professor Meg Urry; presenter Professor Akhil Reed Amar ’80, ’84 J.D.; honoree Professor Jay Gitlin ’71, ’74 Mus.M., ’02 Ph.D;. AYA Executive Director Weili Cheng ’77. (Photo credit: Tony Fiorini)

Urry honored with Lamar Faculty Award

Mon, 04/30/2018
Meg Urry is one of this year’s recipients of the Howard R. Lamar Faculty Awards, presented annually to faculty who have made significant contributions to alumni...