Short version of "Astronomy at Yale" film now available online

Thu, 06/02/2016
A short (3 minute) version of the acclaimed 23-minute film Astronomy at Yale is now available for viewing on Yale’s YouTube channel.   The film shows how Yale...
Left: Saki Kamon, Right: Nora Martin

Winners of prestigious Hoffleit Scholarship announced

Tue, 05/31/2016
The Yale Department of Astronomy is pleased to announce that the Dorrit Hoffleit Undergraduate Research Scholarship has been awarded to Saki Kamon and Nora Martin. This year...

Graduating seniors Badenas and El-Badry jointly awarded 2016 Beckwith Prize

Mon, 05/23/2016
The Yale Astronomy Department has awarded the George Beckwith prize this year to Mariona Badenas, ‘16 B.S. and Kareem el-Badry, ‘16 B.S. The George Beckwith Prize was...

El-Badry, B.S. '16, awarded Exceptional Distinction in the Major for Astrophysics

Mon, 05/23/2016
Kareem El-Badry, B.S. ‘16, has been awarded the prestigious Exceptional Distinction in the Major for Astrophysics. The Yale College Faculty has approved this special award on...

Natarajan elected chair of APS Division of Astrophysics

Wed, 05/11/2016
Priyamvada Natarajan, a professor in the Departments of Astronomy and Physics, has been elected chair of the Division of Astrophysics for the American Physical Society (APS...

Professor C. Megan Urry elected to National Academy of Sciences

Wed, 05/04/2016
Professor C. Megan Urry has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of her distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. She...
photo of A. Plunkett

Adele Plunkett receives NRAO dissertation award

Thu, 04/21/2016
Adele Plunkett, PhD ‘15, is the 2015 recipient of the the Robert L. Brown Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award given by the The National Radio Astronomy Observatory (NRAO...